• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

New directions for CCA board members

TIFFIN— It happened to our state legislators and cost us a congressman. And it’s also happening to the Clear Creek Amana (CCA) School Board of Directors.
It’s redistricting, and it could change the look of the board in 2013.
The results of the 2010 Census led to a number of political districts being redrawn, and the school board director districts are no exception. The school district is divided into four divisions: District 1 includes the Amana Colonies, District 2 has Tiffin, District 3 includes Oxford, and District 4 encompasses CCA’s portions of North Liberty and Coralville.
Currently, District 1 is represented by Rick Hergert, District 2 by Eileen Schmidt, District 3 by Steve Swenka, and Mick Kahler represents District 4. Directors Bob Broghammer, Terry Davis and Aimee Pitlick serve as at-large members and are not impacted by the proposed changes.
If approved by Iowa Secretary of State Matt Schultz, Hergert’s district would expand to cover Oxford. Schmidt’s district would lose Tiffin, but would cover Coralville and Oakdale. Swenka’s district would take over Tiffin but also lose some ground to Kahler’s district. The overall goal is to keep each district as close to a population of 3,000 as possible. That figure was determined by taking a district population of 11,999 and dividing it by four (districts), resulting in an ideal district population of 3,000.
District 1 is the largest with 3,092; District 3 is the smallest at 2,842. Districts 2 and 4 come out to 3,061 and 3,004 respectively.
A resolution stating new director district boundaries (as shown on the proposed map) were established to comply with state law was approved by the board at their April 18 meeting, and will be submitted to Schultz for approval. If the changes pass muster, the new districts will become effective as of July 1. According to board secretary Lori Robertson, if two directors end up in the same district, their terms will expire in 2013 and they will be placed on the ballot for September 2013.
It appears Schmidt and Swenka will face this predicament. Schmidt was elected to the board in 2009 and currently is the board president. Swenka was elected in 2011.