• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Not North Liberty’s president

All but six Iowa counties elect Donald Trump to the White House

North Liberty Leader
NORTH LIBERTY– While Iowa was one of five states to flip party sides in the 2016 presidential election last week, North Liberty– and Johnson County as a whole– stayed true to the blue.
According to the Iowa Secretary of State unofficial election results, 93 of Iowa’s 99 counties voted for president-elect Donald Trump, effectively handing the business mogul six of his total 290 electoral votes and choosing the state’s first Republican since George W. Bush in 2004.
Voters told another tale in some of the state’s most populous counties, including Linn, Scott and Johnson. Although Iowa elected Trump by almost 10 points, Hillary Clinton took the ticket in Johnson County by nearly 30,000 votes (38 percent), according to unofficial results from the Johnson County Auditor’s Office. The margin was only slightly lower in North Liberty, where Clinton garnered 5,608 votes (59 percent) over Trump’s 3,067 (32 percent).
North Liberty, which saw a 87.3 percent voter turnout according to Nov. 6 registrations, also elected its mayor, Amy Nielsen (D), to Iowa House District 77, keeping the seat blue after Democrat Sally Stutsman announced her retirement earlier this year. Nielsen beat out opponent and former Tiffin mayor Royce Phillips 58 percent to 42 percent and by nearly 3,000 votes, winning 14 of the total 18 precincts with District 77 on the ballot.
Nielsen, who was elected mayor in November 2014 to fill a partial term, must resign as mayor before taking office in Des Moines. City Administrator Ryan Heiar said the North Liberty City Council would likely discuss whether to appoint or hold a special election to fill Nielsen’s term, which ends December 2017, at its next meeting (Nov. 22).
Johnson County, which had an 83.71 percent overall voter turnout, was the only county in Iowa to elect Democrat Patty Judge to the U.S. Senate, 57 percent to Republican incumbent Chuck Grassley’s 39 percent, although Grassley held on to his seat with a significant 25-percent margin over Judge statewide. Voters in Johnson County also re-elected U.S. Representative Dave Loebsack (D) to the 2nd U.S. Congressional District. Uncontested candidates took the following county offices: Travis Weipert, County Auditor; Lonny Pulkabrek, County Sheriff; Kurt Friese, Lisa Green-Douglass and Rod Sullivan, Board of Supervisors.