• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2945.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2945.

Still young, but looking for greatness on the green

TIFFIN— Coach Jason Goslin says his CCA girls’ golf team is still young. In his fourth year with the program, Goslin, and assistant coach Carmine Scarpa, has only one senior returning, Maddie Shrader. Sophomores Gabi Scarpa, Anna Johnson and Kelly Noska are also back along with sophomores Eden Campbell, Katelynn Haijsky and Kaitlin VanVoorst. Junior Kate Walker is also back in the Clipper lineup.
Junior Nicole Hegewald and freshmen Nicole Davis, Sarah McGrath and Haley Mougin are new to the squad this season.
Last year the team put up an overall record of 34-19 while taking second in the WaMaC West, sixth in WaMaC, and sixth in district competition.
Goslin sees strength in Shrader’s leadership, noting she is a three-year starter. He also looks to Scarpa, “our returning number one from last year.”
“We’re still young. Four of our starters last year were freshmen and we placed second in the WaMaC West behind a tough Williamsburg team by only six shots,” Goslin said.
The coach figures Williamsburg to be tough again this year along with Grinnell.
“Look for great things to happen in the CCA program in the next few years.”

2012 schedule

Thurs. April 5: Williamsburg @Williamsburg, 4 p.m.
Wed. April 11: Williamsburg Invitational @ Williamsburg, 1 p.m.
Thurs. April 12: Marion/Columbus/Vinton-Shellsburg @Vinton, 4 p.m.
Thurs. April 19: Benton Community @Amana, 4 p.m.
Mon. April 23: Center Point-Urbana @CPU, 4 p.m.
Tues. April 24: Tipton @Tipton, 4 p.m.
Thurs. April 26: Independence @Amana, 4 p.m.
Mon. April 30: WaMaC Divisional @Amana, 4 p.m.
Tues. May 1: Grinnell @Grinnell, 4:15 p.m.
Wed. May 2: Regina/Mid-Prairie TBA, TBA
Mon. May 7: WaMaC Super Meet @Marion, 9 a.m.
Thurs. May 10: CR Prairie Invitational @ Cedar Rapids, 1 p.m.