• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Trojans make a big splash in Dubuque

IC West wins Dubuque Hempstead’s quad swimming meet

North Liberty Leader
DUBUQUE– The Trojans of Iowa City West High topped the field Saturday, Dec. 10, in a quad swimming meet hosted by Dubuque Hempstead. West High won the event with 184.5 team points, followed by Hempstead (141), Dubuque Senior (103.5) and City High (87).
Nasim Abu-Dagga, Ben Berhow, Izaak Hajek and Ethan McAreavy won the 200-yard varsity medley relay in 1:46.03, Lane Griffis won the varsity 200-yard individual medley (IM) in 2:05.61 and the 500-yard freestlye in 5:00.68, Brennon Keen took the varsity 50-yard freestyle in 23.64 seconds, and Hajek won the varsity 100-yard fly in 55.92 seconds.
Sam Deyak, Noah Bruns, Hajek and Berhow won the varsity 200-yard freestyle relay in 1:35.44, while Berhow took the varsity 100-yard breaststroke in 1:03.46.
The junior varsity (JV) squad won with 179 points ahead of Senior (106), Hempstead (90) and City (85).
Coleman Riss, Jeff Garbutt, Michael Kimball and Edward Dowling won the JV 200-yard medley relay, Nick Johnson won the JV 200-yard freestyle in 2:12.13, Garbutt took the JV 50-yard freestyle in 24.97 seconds, Jake Sharafuddin won the JV 100-yard fly in 1:07.25, Riss took the 100-yard JV freestyle in 57.14 seconds, Aiden Peterson won the 500-yard JV freestyle in 5:44.23 while Abu-Dagga, Riss, Johnson and Peterson won the JV 200-yard freestyle relay in 1:43.81. Ben Schroeder won the 100-yard JV backstroke in 1:08.46 and Sharafuddin, Nic Rath, Johnson and Kimball took the 400-yard JV freestyle relay in 3:55.75.
The swimmers will be back in the pool on Saturday, Dec. 17, at City High’s invitational at the Mercer Park Aquatic Center starting at 11 a.m. On Tuesday, Dec. 20, they will compete in the last meet of 2016 at Cedar Rapids Kennedy, starting at 6 p.m.

Varsity 200-yard medley relay: 1, IC West (Nasim Abu-Dagga, Ben Berhow, Izaak Hajek, Ethan McAreavy), 1:46.03. 4, IC West (Ben Schroeder, Lane Griffis, John Li, Noah Bruns), 1:52.00.
Varsity 200-yard freestyle: 2, Hajek, 1:52.45. 5, Tate Happel, 1:59.49.
Varsity 200-yard IM: 1, Griffis, 2:05.61. 3, Berhow, 2:12.78.
Varsity 50-yard freestyle: 1, Brennon Keen, 23.64. 2 (tie with Drake Oswald, Dubuque Senior), Ethan McAreavy, 24.48.
Varsity 100-yard fly: 1, Hajek, 55.92. 7, Li, 1:02.62.
Varsity 100-yard freestyle: 3, Bruns, 53.20. 4, Keen, 55.39.
Varsity 500-yard freestyle: 1, Griffis, 5:00.68. 2, Happel, 5:17.13.
Varsity 200-yard freestyle relay: 1, IC West (Deyak, Bruns, Hajek, Berhow), 1:35.44. 4, IC West (Keen, McAreavy, Garbutt, Happel), 1:38.11.
Varsity 100-yard backstroke: 2, Li, 1:02.17. 6, Abu-Dagga, 1:06.96.
Varsity 100-yard breaststroke: 1, Berhow, 1:03.46. 5, Deyak, 1:08.81.
Varsity 400-yard freestyle relay: 2, IC West (Happel, Bruns, Griffis, Keen), 3:33.42. 3, IC West (McAreavy, Li, Riss, Deyak), 3:44.62.
Varsity team scores: 1, IC West, 184.5. 2, Dubuque Hempstead, 141. 3, Dubuque Senior, 105.5. 4, Iowa City High, 87.